You are here: Prof. M.S. Jairajpuri

Professor Mohammad Shamim Jairajpuri was born in 1942 in Azamgarh, U.P. He obtained B.Sc. (1959), M.Sc. (1961) and Ph.D. (1964) degrees from the Aligarh Muslim University.

The degree of Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) in Zoology on his thesis entitled “Plant-parasitic and Soil-inhabiting Nematodes” was awarded to him in 1970 at the young age of 28 years, an unbroken world record. He was first appointed a Lecturer (1964), then Reader (1972), and finally Professor (1983), became Chairman (1988-89) and again in (1997-98) of Zoology, Museology and Wildlife Departments. He was Dean Faculty of Life Sciences (1993-95 & 1997-98), AMU.

Prof. Jairajpuri has done pioneering research on Nematodes for which the Zoological Society of India awarded him gold medals during 1987, 1998 & 2008. He is considered a renowned world authority on Nematology. He has published over 27 Books and Monographs, and some 400 research papers in journals of international repute. He is the only one in the world who has the distinction of publishing over 125 research papers in Nematology, the Netherlands which is the top-most international journal.

Prof. Jairajpuri is Fellow of several prestigious Academies/Societies of the world, such as FNA, FASc, FNASc, FNAAS, TWAS, FIAS, FIBiol, FLS FISP, FHS, etc. He was Chief Editor, Indian Journal of Nematology (1977-79) and President, Nematological Society of India (1979-81),Vice-President Indian National Science Academy (INSA), and Chairman Programme Advisory Committee of ZSI & BSI, Ministry of Environment & Forests, Govt. of India from 2001-2004. Prof. Jairajpuri, was elected President, Section of Zoology, Entomology & Fisheries, at 89th Indian Science Congress (2001-2002). He is first recipient of Janaki Ammal National Award for Taxonomy by Ministry of Environment & Forests, Govt. of India. He was unanimously elected President, Indian Society for Parasitology (2000-2005). In 2005, he was presented D’Souza Memorial Award in Nematology and in 2006 Honorary Fellowship of Nematological Society of India.

Professor Jairajpuri is the recipient of Life-time Achievement Awards in Nematology (by Nematological Society of India, 2006) in Parasitology (by Indian Society of Parasitology, 2007), in Zoology (by Zoological Society of India, 2008) as also by the Aligarh Muslim University 2009.

 He has held the coveted position of Director, Zoological Survey of India from 1989-1991, and Founder Director of the Institute of Agriculture from 1993-1996. From 1998 until 2003 he was the first and the Founder, Vice-Chancellor of Maulana Azad National Urdu University and simultaneously the Honorary Professor in the School of Life Sciences at the University of Hyderabad. The Indian National Science Academy has awarded him Har Swarup Memorial Award and the highly prestigious Jawaharlal Nehru Visiting Fellowship in 2004. He was awarded Shiksha Rattan Puraskar and Certificate of Excellence by India International Friendship Society in 2007 and Best Citizen of India Award in 2008. The Al-Ameen Educational Society has awarded him it’s highly prestigious Al-Ameen All India Community Leadership Award for 2009.

His e-mail address is This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .